MEMA President and CEO Steve Handschuh Honored with Triangle Award

Date: December 6, 2018

MEMA presented President and CEO Steve Handschuh with the association’s highest honor, the MEMA Triangle Award, during the association’s recent Board of Governors meeting in Southfield, Mich. Handschuh is retiring as MEMA’s top executive on Dec. 31, 2018.

Handschuh joined MEMA in 2006 as AASA’s president and chief operating officer and was appointed president and chief executive officer of MEMA in October 2013. In that position, Handschuh led MEMA and its four divisions: AASA, the Heavy Duty Manufacturers Association (HDMA), MERA – The Association for Sustainable Manufacturing and the Original Equipment Suppliers Association (OESA).

Much of Handschuh’s 40-year career was dedicated to the automotive aftermarket industry. He worked for NAPA AUTO PARTS/Genuine Parts Co. for 18 years, including serving as NAPA president from 1998-2004. He also served as senior vice president, commercial, at AutoZone. Handschuh began his career as an outside salesman for Mighty Auto Parts where he rose to vice president, sales and marketing.

The Triangle Award has been presented by MEMA and its divisions since 1974. It is awarded periodically to that person, persons or organization whom the membership of MEMA and its divisions choose to honor for their contributions to the supplier industry.

Past recipients of the MEMA Triangle award include Marc Fleischaker, chairman emeritus of Arent Fox; Michael Cardone Jr., director, owner and chief strategy officer, CARDONE Industries; Bob McKenna, retired president and CEO of MEMA; David O’Reilly of O’Reilly Automotive Inc.; the late Joseph M. Magliochetti of Dana Corp.; Tom Gallagher of Genuine Parts Co., Bill Long, president of AASA ( then of DANA/Echlin); the late Frederick J. Mancheski of Echlin Inc.; John M. Riess (then of The Gates Rubber Co.); the late Larry McCurdy (then of Moog Automotive); and Jack Reilly (then of Tenneco Automotive).

Printer-friendly version