You are here

John Washbish Honored with Northwood University’s Outstanding Business Leader Award

Date: March 21, 2019

AASA and MEMA congratulate John R Washbish, president and CEO of the Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, for being awarded the prestigious Northwood University’s Outstanding Business Leader award.

In the photo, Bill Long, MEMA president and CEO and AASA president and COO (left), congratulates Washbish at the black-tie event held March 16 in West Palm Beach, Fla.

The award is intended to recognize leaders in the American free enterprise system. Northwood University Board of Trustees members select awardees based on each nominee’s contribution to the philosophy of private enterprise, support of the integration of business and the arts, contribution to education, economic innovation, creative marketing ideas, community involvement, religious leadership, and philanthropic contributions, as well as business success.

Some of the past aftermarket industry recipients include: Daniel R. Langdon, president, East Penn Manufacturing; Thomas F. O’Hare, president and CEO (retired), WorldPAC; Jose Maria Alapont, president and chief executive officer, Federal-Mogul (retired); Neal Williams Sr., chairman, N. A. Williams; Richard H. Morgan, president and CEO, Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance (retired); William Grote III, chairman and CEO, Grote Industries; Tom Gallagher, chairman, president and CEO Genuine Parts Company (retired); Larry McCurdy, chairman of the Board, Affinia Group (deceased); Michael Cardone Jr., chief strategy officer, CARDONE Industries; Larry L. Prince, chairman and chief executive officer, Genuine Parts Company (deceased); O. Temple Sloan Jr., founder, General Parts Inc.; Roger S. Penske, chairman, Penske Corp.; Frederick J. Mancheski, chairman and chief executive officer, Echlin (deceased); and Elliot Lehman, co-chairman emeritus, Fel-Pro.

The full list of past recipients is available here.

Printer-friendly version